Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0754. அறன்ஈனும் இன்பமும் ஈனும்

0754. Araneenum Inbamum Eenum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    கூழியல் (Koozhiyal) - Making Wealth
  • அதிகாரம்
    பொருள் செயல் வகை (Porul Seyal Vagai)
    Way of Accumulating Wealth
  • குறள்
    அறன்ஈனும் இன்பமும் ஈனும் திறனறிந்து
    தீதின்றி வந்த பொருள்.
  • விளக்கம்
    பொருள் சம்பாதிக்கும் வகை அறிந்து, பிறர்க்குத் தீமை செய்யாது வந்த பொருள் அறத்தையும் கொடுக்கும்; இன்பத்தையும் கொடுக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Their wealth, who blameless means can use aright,
    Is source of virtue and of choice delight.
  • Meaning
    The wealth acquired with a knowledge of the proper means and without foul practices will yield virtue and happiness.


Post a Comment