Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0745. கொளற்கரிதாய்க் கொண்டகூழ்த் தாகி

0745. Kolarkarithaaik Kondakoozhth Thaagi

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரணியல் (Araniyal) - Essentials of a State
  • அதிகாரம்
    அரண் (Aran)
    The Fortification
  • குறள்
    கொளற்கரிதாய்க் கொண்டகூழ்த் தாகி அகத்தார்
    நிலைக்கெளிதாம் நீரது அரண்.
  • விளக்கம்
    பகைவர் கைப்பற்றுதற்கரியதாய், உள்ளே பலவகை உணவுப் பொருட்களை உடையதாய், வீரர் நின்று போர் செய்வதற்கு வாய்ப்புடையதாய் உள்ளதே அரண்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Impregnable, containing ample stores of food,
    A fort for those within, must be a warlike station good.
  • Meaning
    A fort is that which cannot be captured, which abounds in suitable provisions, and affords a position of easy defence to its inmates.


Post a Comment