Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0721. வகையறிந்து வல்லவை வாய்சோரார்

0721. Vagaiyarindhu Vallavai Vaaisoraar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    அவை அஞ்சாமை (Avai Anjaamai)
    Not to Dread the Council
  • குறள்
    வகையறிந்து வல்லவை வாய்சோரார் சொல்லின்
    தொகையறிந்த தூய்மை யவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    சொற்களைத் தொகுத்துக் கூறும் முறையினை அறிந்தவர், அவையின் தன்மையை அறிந்து, அறிஞர் அவையில் பிழைபடச் சொல்லமாட்டார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Men, pure in heart, who know of words the varied force,
    The mighty council's moods discern, nor fail in their discourse.
  • Meaning
    The pure who know the classification of words having first ascertained the nature (of the court) will not (through fear) falter in their speech before the powerful body.


Post a Comment