Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0714. ஒளியார்முன் ஒள்ளிய ராதல்

0714. Oliyaarmun Olliya Raathal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    அவை அறிதல் (Avai Arithal)
    The Knowledge of the Council Chamber
  • குறள்
    ஒளியார்முன் ஒள்ளிய ராதல் வெளியார்முன்
    வான்சுதை வண்ணம் கொளல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    அறிவுடையோர்முன் அறிவுடையோராகப் பேசுதல் வேண்டும். அறியாதவர்முன் அறியாதவர் போல் பேசுதல் வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Before the bright ones shine as doth the light!
    Before the dull ones be as purest stucco white!
  • Meaning
    Ministers should be lights in the assembly of the enlightned, but assume the pure whiteness of mortar (ignorance) in that of fools.


Post a Comment