Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0694. செவிச்சொல்லும் சேர்ந்த நகையும்

0694. Sevichchollum Serndha Nagaiyum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    மன்னரைச் சேர்ந்தொழுகல் (Mannaraich Cherndhozhugal)
    Conduct in the Presence of the King
  • குறள்
    செவிச்சொல்லும் சேர்ந்த நகையும் அவித்தொழுகல்
    ஆன்ற பெரியா ரகத்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    சிறப்புமிகுந்த அரசர் அருகில் இருக்கும்போது, மற்றவர் காதிலே மறைவாகச் சொல்லுதலையும், மன்னருடன் சேர்ந்து சிரித்தலையும் நீக்கி நடத்தல் வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    All whispered words and interchange of smiles repress,
    In presence of the men who kingly power possess.
  • Meaning
    While in the presence of the sovereign, ministers should neither whisper to nor smile at others.


Post a Comment