Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0692. மன்னர் விழைப விழையாமை

0692. Mannar Vizhaiba Vizhaiyaamai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    மன்னரைச் சேர்ந்தொழுகல் (Mannaraich Cherndhozhugal)
    Conduct in the Presence of the King
  • குறள்
    மன்னர் விழைப விழையாமை மன்னரால்
    மன்னிய ஆக்கந் தரும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    மன்னர் விரும்பியவற்றைத் தாம் விரும்பாதிருத்தல், அம்மன்னரால் நிலையான செல்வத்தைக் கொடுக்கச் செய்யும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    To those who prize not state that kings are wont to prize,
    The king himself abundant wealth supplies.
  • Meaning
    For ministers not to cover the things desired by their kings will through the kings themselves yield them everlasting wealth.


Post a Comment