Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0682. அன்பறிவு ஆராய்ந்த சொல்வன்மை

0682. Anbarivu Aaraaindha Solvanmai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    தூது (Thoothu)
    The Envoy
  • குறள்
    அன்பறிவு ஆராய்ந்த சொல்வன்மை தூதுரைப்பார்க்கு
    இன்றி யமையாத மூன்று.
  • விளக்கம்
    அன்பும், அறிவும், ஆராய்ந்த சொல்வன்மையுமாகிய மூன்றும் தூது சொல்பவரிடம் இருக்க வேண்டிய இன்றியமையாத குணங்கள்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Love, knowledge, power of chosen words, three things,
    Should he possess who speaks the words of kings.
  • Meaning
    Love (to his sovereign), knowledge (of his affairs), and a discriminating power of speech (before other sovereigns) are the three sine qua non qualifications of an ambassador.


Post a Comment