Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0680. உறைசிறியார் உள்நடுங்கல் அஞ்சிக்

0680. Uraisiriyaar Ulnadunkal Anjik

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    வினைசெயல்வகை (Vinaiseyalvagai)
    Modes of Action
  • குறள்
    உறைசிறியார் உள்நடுங்கல் அஞ்சிக் குறைபெறின்
    கொள்வர் பெரியார்ப் பணிந்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    சிறு நாட்டை ஆள்பவர், தம்மைவிட வலியவர் படையெடுத்து வந்தால், தம் குடிகள் கலங்குவதற்கு அஞ்சி சமாதானம் செய்வதற்கு இசைந்தால் அவரைப் பணிந்து அதனை ஏற்றுக்கொள்வர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The men of lesser realm, fearing the people's inward dread,
    Accepting granted terms, to mightier ruler bow the head.
  • Meaning
    Ministers of small states, afraid of their people being frightened, will yield to and acknowledge their superior foes, if the latter offer them a chance of reconciliation.


Post a Comment