Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0675. பொருள்கருவி காலம் வினையிடனொடு

0675. Porulkaruvi Kaalam Vinaiyidanodu

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    வினைசெயல்வகை (Vinaiseyalvagai)
    Modes of Action
  • குறள்
    பொருள்கருவி காலம் வினையிடனொடு ஐந்தும்
    இருள்தீர எண்ணிச் செயல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஒரு செயலைச் செய்யுமிடத்துப் பொருள், கருவி, காலம், செயல், இடம் ஆகிய இவ்வைந்தையும் ஐயமற ஆராய்ந்து செய்தல் வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Treasure and instrument and time and deed and place of act:
    These five, till every doubt remove, think o'er with care exact.
  • Meaning
    Do an act after a due consideration of the (following) five, viz. money, means, time, execution and place.


Post a Comment