Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0668. கலங்காது கண்ட வினைக்கண்

0668. Kalangaathu Kanda Vinaikkan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    வினைத்திட்பம் (Vinaiththitpam)
    Power in Action
  • குறள்
    கலங்காது கண்ட வினைக்கண் துளங்காது
    தூக்கங் கடிந்து செயல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    மனம் கலங்காமல் செய்வதாகத் துணிந்த செயலிடத்துப் பின்னர் தளர்ச்சியில்லாது காலம் நீட்டிக்காது செய்தல் வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    What clearly eye discerns as right, with steadfast will,
    And mind unslumbering, that should man fulfil.
  • Meaning
    An act that has been firmly resolved on must be as firmly carried out without delay.


Post a Comment