Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0649. பலசொல்லக் காமுறுவர் மன்றமா

0649. Palasollak Kaamuruvar Mandramaa

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    சொல்வன்மை (Solvanmai)
    Power in Speech
  • குறள்
    பலசொல்லக் காமுறுவர் மன்றமா சற்ற
    சிலசொல்லல் தேற்றா தவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    குற்ற மற்றவையாகச் சில சொற்களைச் சொல்லத் தெரியாதவர், பல சொற்களைச் சொல்லிக் கொண்டிருக்க விரும்புவார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who have not skill ten faultless words to utter plain,
    Their tongues will itch with thousand words man's ears to pain.
  • Meaning
    They will desire to utter many words, who do not know how to speak a few faultless ones.


Post a Comment