Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0640. முறைப்படச் சூழ்ந்தும் முடிவிலவே

0640. Muraippadach Choozhndhum Mudivilave

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    அமைச்சு (Amaichchu)
    The Office of Minister of State
  • குறள்
    முறைப்படச் சூழ்ந்தும் முடிவிலவே செய்வர்
    திறப்பாடு இலாஅ தவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    செயலைச் செய்து முடிக்கும் திறமையில்லாத அமைச்சர், செய்யவேண்டிய செயல் பற்றி முறைப்படி ஆலோசித்து வைத்தும், செய்யும் பொது அதனை முடிவாகச் செய்யமாட்டார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    For gain of end desired just counsel nought avails
    To minister, when tact in execution fails.
  • Meaning
    Those ministers who are destitute of (executive) ability will fail to carry out their projects, although they may have contrived aright.


Post a Comment