Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0633. பிரித்தலும் பேணிக் கொளலும்

0633. Piriththalum Penik Kolalum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அமைச்சியல் (Amaichchiyal) - Ministers of State
  • அதிகாரம்
    அமைச்சு (Amaichchu)
    The Office of Minister of State
  • குறள்
    பிரித்தலும் பேணிக் கொளலும் பிரிந்தார்ப்
    பொருத்தலும் வல்ல தமைச்சு.
  • விளக்கம்
    பகைவரின் துணைவரைப் பிரித்தல், தம் துணைவரைப் பேணல், தம்மை விட்டுப் பிரிந்தவரைத் தம்மோடு சேர்த்தல் ஆகியவற்றில் வல்லவனே அமைச்சனாவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    A minister is he whose power can foes divide,
    Attach more firmly friends, of severed ones can heal the breaches wide.
  • Meaning
    The minister is one who can effect discord (among foes), maintain the good-will of his friends and restore to friendship those who have seceded (from him).


Post a Comment