Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0628. இன்பம் விழையான் இடும்பை

0628. Inbam Vizhaiyaan Idumbai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    இடுக்கண் அழியாமை (Idukkan Azhiyaamai)
    Helpless in Trouble
  • குறள்
    இன்பம் விழையான் இடும்பை இயல்பென்பான்
    துன்பம் உறுதல் இலன்.
  • விளக்கம்
    இன்பத்தை விரும்பாமல் துன்பம் இயற்கையானது என்ற தெளிவுடையவன் துன்பம் அடையமாட்டான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    He seeks not joy, to sorrow man is born, he knows;
    Such man will walk unharmed by touch of human woes.
  • Meaning
    That man never experiences sorrow, who does not seek for pleasure, and who considers distress to be natural (to man).


Post a Comment