Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0617. மடியுளாள் மாமுகடி என்ப

0617. Madiyulaal Maamugadi Enba

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஆள்வினை உடைமை (Aalvinai Udaimai)
    Manly Effort
  • குறள்
    மடியுளாள் மாமுகடி என்ப மடியிலான்
    தாளுளான் தாமரையி னாள்.
  • விளக்கம்
    மூதேவி சோம்பலுள்ளவனிடத்தில் இருப்பாள்; சீதேவி முயற்சியுள்ளவனிடத்தில் இருப்பாள்.
  • Translation
    in English
    In sluggishness is seen misfortune's lurid form, the wise declare;
    Where man unslothful toils, she of the lotus flower is there!
  • Meaning
    They say that the black Mudevi (the goddess of adversity) dwells with laziness, and the Latchmi (the goddess of prosperity) dwells with the labour of the industrious.


Post a Comment