Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0615. இன்பம் விழையான் வினைவிழைவான்

0615. Inbam Vizhaiyaan Viniaivizhaiyaan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஆள்வினை உடைமை (Aalvinai Udaimai)
    Manly Effort
  • குறள்
    இன்பம் விழையான் வினைவிழைவான் தன்கேளிர்
    துன்பம் துடைத்தூன்றும் தூண்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தனக்கு இன்பத்தை விரும்பாமல் செயல் முடித்தலையே விரும்புகின்றவன், தன் உறவினரின் துன்பத்தை நீக்கி அவரைத் தாங்கும் தூணாவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Whose heart delighteth not in pleasure, but in action finds delight,
    He wipes away his kinsmen's grief and stands the pillar of their might.
  • Meaning
    He who desires not pleasure, but desires labour, will be a pillar to sustain his relations, wiping away their sorrows.


Post a Comment