Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0595. வெள்ளத் தனைய மலர்நீட்டம்

0595. Vellath Thanaiya Malarneettam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஊக்கம் உடைமை (Ookkam Udaimai)
  • குறள்
    வெள்ளத் தனைய மலர்நீட்டம் மாந்தர்தம்
    உள்ளத் தனையது உயர்வு.
  • விளக்கம்
    பூத்தண்டின் நீளம் அது நிற்கும் நீரின் அளவாகும். அதுபோல் மக்களும் தங்கள் ஊக்கத்தின் அளவே உயர்வு பெறுவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    With rising flood the rising lotus flower its stem unwinds;
    The dignity of men is measured by their minds.
  • Meaning
    The stalks of water-flowers are proportionate to the depth of water; so is men's greatness proportionate to their minds.


Post a Comment