Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0593. ஆக்கம் இழந்தேமென்று அல்லாவார்

0593. Aakkam Ezhandhemendru Allaavaar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஊக்கம் உடைமை (Ookkam Udaimai)
  • குறள்
    ஆக்கம் இழந்தேமென்று அல்லாவார் ஊக்கம்
    ஒருவந்தம் கைத்துடை யார்.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஊக்கத்தை உறுதியாகத் தம் கைப்பொருளாக உள்ளவர் 'யாம் செல்வத்தை இழந்து விட்டோம்' என்று சொல்லி வருந்தமாட்டார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    'Lost is our wealth,' they utter not this cry distressed,
    The men of firm concentred energy of soul possessed.
  • Meaning
    They who are possessed of enduring energy will not trouble themselves, saying, "we have lost our property."


Post a Comment