Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0590. சிறப்பறிய ஒற்றின்கண் செய்யற்க

0590. Sirappariya Otrinkan Seiyarka

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஒற்றாடல் (Otraadal)
  • குறள்
    சிறப்பறிய ஒற்றின்கண் செய்யற்க செய்யின்
    புறப்படுத்தான் ஆகும் மறை.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஓர் ஒற்றனுக்குச் செய்யும் சிறப்பை, மற்றவர்கள் அறியுமாறு செய்யக்கூடாது. அவ்வாறு செய்தால், அரசன் தன்னுடைய இரகசியத்தைத் தானே வெளிப்படுத்தியவனாவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Reward not trusty spy in others' sight,
    Or all the mystery will come to light.
  • Meaning
    Let not a king publicly confer on a spy any marks of his favour; if he does, he will divulge his own secret.


Post a Comment