Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0578. கருமம் சிதையாமல் கண்ணோட

0578. Karumam Sidhaiyaamal Kannoda

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    கண்ணோட்டம் (Kannottam)
  • குறள்
    கருமம் சிதையாமல் கண்ணோட வல்லார்க்கு
    உரிமை உடைத்திவ் வுலகு.
  • விளக்கம்
    தம் செயல் கெடாதவகையில் கண்ணோட்டம் செய்யவல்ல அரசர்க்கு, இவ்வுலகம் உரியதாகும் தன்மையுடையது.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who can benignant smile, yet leave no work undone;
    By them as very own may all the earth be won.
  • Meaning
    The world is theirs (kings) who are able to show kindness, without injury to their affairs, (administration of justice).


Post a Comment