Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0576. மண்ணோ டியைந்த மரத்தனையர்

0576. Manno Diyaindha Maraththanaiyar

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    கண்ணோட்டம் (Kannottam)
  • குறள்
    மண்ணோ டியைந்த மரத்தனையர் கண்ணோ
    டியைந்துகண் ணோடா தவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    இரக்கத்தைக் காட்டும் கண்களை உடையவராயிருந்தும் இரக்கத்தைக் காட்டாதவர், மண்ணோடு பொருந்தி நிற்கின்ற மரத்தை ஒப்பர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Whose eyes 'neath brow infixed diffuse no ray
    Of grace; like tree in earth infixed are they.
  • Meaning
    They resemble the trees of the earth, who although they have eyes, never look kindly (on others).


Post a Comment