Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0551. கொலைமேற்கொண் டாரிற் கொடிதே

0551. Kolaimerkon Daarir Kodithe

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    கொடுங்கோன்மை (Kodungonmai)
    The Cruel Sceptre
  • குறள்
    கொலைமேற்கொண் டாரிற் கொடிதே அலைமேற்கொண்டு
    அல்லவை செய்தொழுகும் வேந்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    குடிகளை வருத்துதலை மேற்கொண்டு நீதியில்லாதவற்றைச் செய்து நடக்கும் அரசன், கொலைத் தொழில் செய்கின்றவர்களை விடக் கொடியவனாவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Than one who plies the murderer's trade, more cruel is the king
    Who all injustice works, his subjects harassing.
  • Meaning
    The king who gives himself up to oppression and acts unjustly (towards his subjects) is more cruel than the man who leads the life of a murderer.


Post a Comment