Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0519. வினைக்கண் வினையுடையான் கேண்மைவே

0519. Vinaikkan Vinaiyudaiyon Kenmaive

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    தெரிந்து வினையாடல் (Therindhu Vinaiyaadal)
    Selection and Employment
  • குறள்
    வினைக்கண் வினையுடையான் கேண்மைவே றாக
    நினைப்பானை நீங்கும் திரு.
  • விளக்கம்
    மேற்கொண்ட செயலில் இடைவிடா முயற்சியுடையவனது நட்பைத் தவறாக, ஐயப்படும் அரசனை விட்டுத் திருமகள் நீங்குவாள்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Fortune deserts the king who ill can bear,
    Informal friendly ways of men his tolls who share.
  • Meaning
    Prosperity will leave (the king) who doubts the friendship of the man who steadily labours in the discharge of his duties.


Post a Comment