Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0456. மனந்தூயார்க் கெச்சம்நன் றாகும்

0456. Mananthooyaark Kechchamnan Raagum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    சிற்றினம் சேராமை (Chitrinam Seraamai)
    Avoiding Mean Associations
  • குறள்
    மனந்தூயார்க் கெச்சம்நன் றாகும் இனந்தூயார்க்கு
    இல்லைநன் றாகா வினை.
  • விளக்கம்
    மனத்தூய்மை உடையவர்க்கு அவர்க்குப்பின் எஞ்சி நிற்கும் புகழ் முதலியவை நன்றாகும்; இனத்தூய்மை உடையவர்க்கு நன்றாகாத செயல் இல்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    From true pure-minded men a virtuous race proceeds;
    To men of pure companionship belong no evil deeds.
  • Meaning
    To the pure-minded there will be a good posterity. By those whose associates are pure, no deeds will be done that are not good.


Post a Comment