Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0452. நிலத்தியல்பால் நீர்திரிந் தற்றாகும்

0452. Nilaththiyalpaal Neerthirindh Thatraagum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    சிற்றினம் சேராமை (Chitrinam Seraamai)
    Avoiding Mean Associations
  • குறள்
    நிலத்தியல்பால் நீர்திரிந் தற்றாகும் மாந்தர்க்கு
    இனத்தியல்ப தாகும் அறிவு.
  • விளக்கம்
    தண்ணீர் சேர்ந்த நிலத்தின் இயல்புக்கேற்ப மாறுபட்டு நிற்கும்; அதுபோல மக்களின் அறிவும் தாம் சேர்ந்த இனத்தின் தன்மைக்கேற்ப மாறுபடும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The waters' virtues change with soil through which they flow;
    As man's companionship so will his wisdom show.
  • Meaning
    As water changes (its nature), from the nature of the soil (in which it flows), so will the character of men resemble that of their associates.


Post a Comment