Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0449. முதலிலார்க ஊதிய மில்லை

0449. Mudhalilaarka Oothiya Millai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    பெரியாரைத் துணைக்கோடல் (Periyaaraith Thunaikkodal)
    Seeking the Aid of Great Men
  • குறள்
    முதலிலார்க ஊதிய மில்லை மதலையாஞ்
    சார்பிலார்க் கில்லை நிலை.
  • விளக்கம்
    முதல் பொருளில்லாத வணிகர்க்கு அதனால் வரும் இலாபம் இல்லை. அதுபோலத் தம்மைத் தாங்கும் துணையில்லாத மன்னர்க்கு அதனால் வரும் நன்மை இல்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who owns no principal, can have no gain of usury;
    Who lacks support of friends, knows no stability.
  • Meaning
    There can be no gain to those who have no capital; and in like manner there can be no permanence to those who are without the support of adherents.


Post a Comment