Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0417. பிழைத்துணர்ந்தும் பேதைமை சொல்லா

0417. Pizhaththunarndhum Pethaimai Sollaa

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    கேள்வி (Kelvi)
  • குறள்
    பிழைத்துணர்ந்தும் பேதைமை சொல்லா ரிழைத்துணர்ந்
    தீண்டிய கேள்வி யவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    பொருள்களை நுட்பமாக ஆராய்ந்தறிந்து நிறைந்த கேள்வியையுடையவர், தவறாக ஒன்றை அறிந்தவிடத்தும் அறியாமை பொருந்திய சொல்லைச் சொல்ல மாட்டார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Not e'en through inadvertence speak they foolish word,
    With clear discerning mind who've learning's ample lessons heard.
  • Meaning
    Not even when they have imperfectly understood (a matter), will those men speak foolishly, who have profoundly studied and diligently listened (to instruction).


Post a Comment