Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0406. உளரென்னும் மாத்திரையர் அல்லால்

0406. Ularennum Maaththiraiyar Allaal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    கல்லாமை (Kallaamai)
  • குறள்
    உளரென்னும் மாத்திரையர் அல்லால் பயவாக்
    களரனையர் கல்லா தவர்.
  • விளக்கம்
    கல்லாதவர் உயிரோடிருக்கின்றார் என்று சொல்லப்படும் அளவினரேயன்றிப் பயனில்லாமையால் அவர் விளையாத உவர் நிலத்தைப் போன்றவராவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    'They are': so much is true of men untaught;
    But, like a barren field, they yield us nought!
  • Meaning
    The unlearned are like worthless barren land: all that can be said of them is, that they exist.


Post a Comment