Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0390. கொடையளி செங்கோல் குடியோம்பல்

0390. Kodaiyali Senkol Kudiyombal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    இறைமாட்சி (Iraimaatchi)
    The Greatness of a King
  • குறள்
    கொடையளி செங்கோல் குடியோம்பல் நான்கும்
    உடையானாம் வேந்தர்க் கொளி.
  • விளக்கம்
    கொடையும், அன்பும், செங்கோல் முறையும், குடிகளைக் காத்தலும் ஆகிய இந்நான்கு செயல்களையும் உடையவன் அரசர்களுக்கெல்லாம் விளக்குப் போன்றவனாவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Gifts, grace, right sceptre, care of people's weal;
    These four a light of dreaded kings reveal.
  • Meaning
    He is the light of kings who has there four things, beneficence, benevolence, rectitude, and care for his people.


Post a Comment