Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0381. படைகுடி கூழ்அமைச்சு நட்பரண்

0381. Padaikoodi Koozhamaichchu Natparan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    பொருட்பால் (Porutpaal) - Wealth
  • இயல்
    அரசியல் (Arasiyal) - Royalty
  • அதிகாரம்
    இறைமாட்சி (Iraimaatchi)
    The Greatness of a King
  • குறள்
    படைகுடி கூழ்அமைச்சு நட்பரண் ஆறும்
    உடையான் அரசருள் ஏறு.
  • விளக்கம்
    படை, குடி, பொருள், அமைச்சர், நண்பர், கோட்டை என்னும் உறுப்பு ஆறனையும் உடையவன், அரசருள் சிங்கம் போன்றவனாவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    An army, people, wealth, a minister, friends, fort: six things-
    Who owns them all, a lion lives amid the kings.
  • Meaning
    He who possesses these six things, an army, a people, wealth, ministers, friends and a fortress, is a lion among kings.


Post a Comment