Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0372. பேதைப் படுக்கும் இழவூழ்

0372. Pethaip Padukkum Izhavoozh

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    ஊழியல் (Oozhiyal) - Fate
  • அதிகாரம்
    ஊழ் (Oozh)
  • குறள்
    பேதைப் படுக்கும் இழவூழ் அறிவகற்றும்
    ஆகலூழ் உற்றக் கடை.
  • விளக்கம்
    பொருளை இழந்ததற்குக் காரணமாக உள்ள ஊழ் அறியாமையைக் கொடுக்கும்; செல்வம் பெருகுவதற்குக் காரணமாயுள்ள ஊழ் விரிந்த அறிவைக் கொடுக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The fate that loss ordains makes wise men's wisdom foolishness;
    The fate that gain bestows with ampler powers will wisdom bless.
  • Meaning
    An adverse fate produces folly, and a prosperous fate produces enlarged knowledge.


Post a Comment