Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0361. அவாஎன்ப எல்லா உயிர்க்கும்

0361. Avaaenba Ellaa Uyirkkum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    அவா அறுத்தல் (Avaa Aruththal)
    The Extirpation of Desire
  • குறள்
    அவாஎன்ப எல்லா உயிர்க்கும் எஞ்ஞான்றும்
    தவாஅப் பிறப்பீனும் வித்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஆசை, வெறுப்பு, மயக்கம் என்னும் மூன்றின் பெயரும் அழியுமாறு ஒழுகினால் அவர்க்குத் துன்பங்கள் வராமல் ஒழிந்து நீங்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The wise declare, through all the days, to every living thing.
    That ceaseless round of birth from seed of strong desire doth spring.
  • Meaning
    (The wise) say that the seed, which produces unceasing births, at all times, to all creatures, is desire.


Post a Comment