Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0354. ஐயுணர்வு எய்தியக் கண்ணும்

0354. Aiyunarvu Eithiyak Kannum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    மெய்யுணர்தல் (Meiunarthal)
    Knowledge of the True
  • குறள்
    ஐயுணர்வு எய்தியக் கண்ணும் பயமின்றே
    மெய்யுணர்வு இல்லா தவர்க்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஐம்புலன்களையும் அடக்கித் தம் வசப்படுத்தியவர்க்கும் மெய்யறிவு இல்லையென்றால் அதனால் பயனில்லையாகும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Five-fold perception gained, what benefits accrue
    To them whose spirits lack perception of the true?
  • Meaning
    Even those who have all the knowledge which can be attained by the five senses, will derive no benefit from it, if they are without a knowledge of the true nature of things.


Post a Comment