Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0352. இருள்நீங்கி இன்பம் பயக்கும்

0352. Irulneengi Inbam Payakkum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    மெய்யுணர்தல் (Meiunarthal)
    Knowledge of the True
  • குறள்
    இருள்நீங்கி இன்பம் பயக்கும் மருள்நீங்கி
    மாசறு காட்சி யவர்க்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    மயக்கத்தினின்று தெளிந்து குற்றந் தீர்ந்த மெய்யறிவுடையவருக்கு அம்மெய்யறிவு துன்பத்தை நீக்கி இன்பத்தைக் கொடுக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Darkness departs, and rapture springs to men who see,
    The mystic vision pure, from all delusion free.
  • Meaning
    A clear, undimmed vision of things will deliver its possessors from the darkness of future births, and confer the felicity (of heaven).


Post a Comment