Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0346. யான்எனது என்னும் செருக்குஅறுப்பான்

0346. Yaanenathu Ennum Serukkuaruppaan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    துறவு (Thuravu)
  • குறள்
    யான்எனது என்னும் செருக்குஅறுப்பான் வானோர்க்கு
    உயர்ந்த உலகம் புகும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    தானல்லாத உடம்பைத் தான் என்றும், தன்னுடையதல்லாத பொருளைத் தன்னுடையது என்றும் நினைத்து மயங்காதவன், வானவருக்கும் எட்டாத வீட்டுலகத்தை அடைவான்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who kills conceit that utters 'I' and 'mine',
    Shall enter realms above the powers divine.
  • Meaning
    He who destroys the pride which says "I", "mine" will enter a world which is difficult even to the Gods to attain.


Post a Comment