Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0343. அடல்வேண்டும் ஐந்தன் புலத்தை

0343. Adalvendum Aindhan Pulaththai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    துறவு (Thuravu)
  • குறள்
    அடல்வேண்டும் ஐந்தன் புலத்தை விடல்வேண்டும்
    வேண்டிய வெல்லாம் ஒருங்கு.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஐம்புலன்களையும் அடக்கி வெல்லுதல் வேண்டும்; ஐம்புல நுகர்ச்சிக்கு வேண்டியவற்றையெல்லாம் ஒருமிக்க விட்டுவிடல் வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    'Perceptions of the five' must all expire;
    Relinquished in its order each desire.
  • Meaning
    Let the five senses be destroyed; and at the same time, let everything be abandoned that (the ascetic) has (formerly) desired.


Post a Comment