Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0341. யாதனின் யாதனின் நீங்கியான்

0341. Yaathanin Yaathanin Neengiyaan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    துறவு (Thuravu)
  • குறள்
    யாதனின் யாதனின் நீங்கியான் நோதல்
    அதனின் அதனின் இலன்.
  • விளக்கம்
    எவன் எவ்வெப்பொருளில் ஆசையை ஒழித்தானோ, அவனுக்கு அவ்வப் பொருளால் துன்பம் உண்டாவதில்லை.
  • Translation
    in English
    From whatever, aye, whatever, man gets free,
    From what, aye, from that, no more of pain hath he!
  • Meaning
    Whatever thing, a man has renounced, by that thing; he cannot suffer pain.


Post a Comment