Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0335. நாச்செற்று விக்குள்மேல் வாராமுன்

0335. Naachchetru Vikkulmel Vaaraamun

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
  • குறள்
    நாச்செற்று விக்குள்மேல் வாராமுன் நல்வினை
    மேற்சென்று செய்யப் படும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    பேச முடியாதபடி நாவை அடக்கும் விக்கலானது தோன்றுவதற்கு முன்னே அறத்தை விரைந்து செய்ய வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Before the tongue lie powerless, 'mid the gasp of gurgling breath,
    Arouse thyself, and do good deeds beyond the power of death.
  • Meaning
    Let virtuous deeds be done quickly, before the biccup comes making the tongue silent.


Post a Comment