Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0329. கொலைவினைய ராகிய மாக்கள்

0329. Kolaivinaiya Raagiya Maakkal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    Not Killing
  • குறள்
    கொலைவினைய ராகிய மாக்கள் புலைவினையர்
    புன்மை தெரிவா ரகத்து.
  • விளக்கம்
    கொலைத் தொழில் செய்பவர், தாம் அத்தொழிலின் சிறுமையை அறியாராயினும், அத்தொழிலின் சிறுமையை அறிந்தவர்க்கு அவர் இழி தொழிலினராகவே காணப்படுவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Whose trade is 'killing', always vile they show,
    To minds of them who what is vileness know.
  • Meaning
    Men who destroy life are base men, in the estimation of those who know the nature of meanness.


Post a Comment