Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0318. தன்னுயிர்க்கு ஏன்னாமை தானறிவான்

0318. Thannuyirkku Yennaamai Thaanarivaan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    இன்னா செய்யாமை(Innaa Seiyaamai)
    Not Doing Evil
  • குறள்
    தன்னுயிர்க்கு ஏன்னாமை தானறிவான் என்கொலோ
    மன்னுயிர்க்கு இன்னா செயல்.
  • விளக்கம்
    பிறர் செய்யும் துன்பம் தன்னுயிர்க்குத் துன்பம் தருவதை அறிந்தும், தான் பிற உயிர்க்கு அதனைச் செய்தல் என்ன காரணத்தால்?
  • Translation
    in English
    Whose soul has felt the bitter smart of wrong, how can
    He wrongs inflict on ever-living soul of man?
  • Meaning
    Why does a man inflict upon other creatures those sufferings, which he has found by experience are sufferings to himself ?


Post a Comment