Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0301. செல்லிடத்துக் காப்பான் சினங்காப்பான்

0301. Sellidaththuk Kaappaan Sinangaappaan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    The Not Being Angry
  • குறள்
    செல்லிடத்துக் காப்பான் சினங்காப்பான் அல்லிடத்துக்
    காக்கின்என் காவாக்கா
  • விளக்கம்
    கோபம் பலிக்கக் கூடிய இடத்தில் சினம் உண்டாகாமல் தடுப்பவனே அதை அடக்கியவனாவான். பலிக்க முடியாத இடத்தில் சினத்தை அடக்கினால் என்ன? அடக்காவிட்டால் என்ன?
  • Translation
    in English
    Where thou hast power thy angry will to work, thy wrath restrain;
    Where power is none, what matter if thou check or give it rein?
  • Meaning
    He restrains his anger who restrains it when it can injure; when it cannot injure, what does it
    matter whether he restrain it, or not ?


Post a Comment