Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0284. களவின்கண் கன்றிய காதல்

0284. Kalavinkan Kandriya Kaathal

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    The Absence of Fraud
  • குறள்
    களவின்கண் கன்றிய காதல் விளைவின்கண்
    வீயா விழுமம் தரும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    பிறர் பொருளைக் கவர நினைப்பதில் ஒருவனுக்கு உள்ள மிக்க விருப்பம், பயன் கொடுக்கும்போது நீங்காத துன்பத்தைக் கொடுக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The lust inveterate of fraudful gain,
    Yields as its fruit undying pain.
  • Meaning
    The eager desire of defrauding others will, when it brings forth its fruit, produce undying sorrow.


Post a Comment