Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0281. எள்ளாமை வேண்டுவான் என்பான்

0281. Ellaamai Venduvaan Enbaan

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    The Absence of Fraud
  • குறள்
    எள்ளாமை வேண்டுவான் என்பான் எனைத்தொன்றும்
    கள்ளாமை காக்கதன் நெஞ்சு.
  • விளக்கம்
    தான்பிறரால் இகழப்படாமல் இருக்க வேண்டும் என்று விரும்புகின்றவன், பிறர் பொருளை வஞ்சித்துக் கொள்ள நினைக்காதபடி தனது நெஞ்சைக் காக்க வேண்டும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who seeks heaven's joys, from impious levity secure,
    Let him from every fraud preserve his spirit pure.
  • Meaning
    Let him, who desires not to be despised, keep his mind from (the desire of) defrauding another of the smallest thing.


Post a Comment