Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0275. பற்றற்றேம் என்பார் படிற்றொழுக்கம்

0275. Patratrem Enbaar Paditrozhukkam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    கூடா ஒழுக்கம்(Koodaa Ozhukkam)
    Inconsistent Conduct
  • குறள்
    பற்றற்றேம் என்பார் படிற்றொழுக்கம் எற்றெற்றென்று
    ஏதம் பலவுந் தரும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    எமக்குப்பற்று இல்லை என்று சொல்லுபவரின் பொய்யான ஒழுக்கம், அப்பொழுது இனிது போலத் தோன்றினாலும் பின்னர் பல துன்பங்களையும் தரும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    'Our souls are free,' who say, yet practise evil secretly,
    'What folly have we wrought!' by many shames o'er-whelmed, shall cry.
  • Meaning
    The false conduct of those who say they have renounced all desire will one day bring them sorrows that will make them cry out, "Oh! what have we done, what have we done."


Post a Comment