Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0271. வஞ்ச மனத்தான் படிற்றொழுக்கம்

0271. Vanja Manaththaan Paditrozhukkam

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    கூடா ஒழுக்கம்(Koodaa Ozhukkam)
    Inconsistent Conduct
  • குறள்
    வஞ்ச மனத்தான் படிற்றொழுக்கம் பூதங்கள்
    ஐந்தும் அகத்தே நகும்.
  • விளக்கம்
    கள்ள மனமுடையானின் பொய் ஒழுக்கத்தைப் பிறர் அறியவில்லை எனினும் அவனது உடம்பில் கலந்துள்ள ஐந்து பூதங்களும் கண்டு தம்முள்ளே சிரிக்கும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who with deceitful mind in false way walks of covert sin,
    The five-fold elements his frame compose, decide within.
  • Meaning
    The five elements (of his body) will laugh within him at the feigned conduct of the deceitful minded man.


Post a Comment