Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0266. தவஞ்செய்வார் தங்கருமஞ் செய்வார்மற்

0266. Thavanjcheivaar Thangarumanj Cheivaarmat

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
  • குறள்
    தவஞ்செய்வார் தங்கருமஞ் செய்வார்மற் றல்லார்
    அவஞ்செய்வார் ஆசையுட் பட்டு.
  • விளக்கம்
    தவம் செய்கின்றவரே தமக்கு உறுதியாகிய நற்செயலைச் செய்பவராவர்; தவம் செய்யாதவர் ஆசையாகிய வழியில் சிக்கித் தமக்குத் தீமை செய்பவராவர்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Who works of 'penance' do, their end attain,
    Others in passion's net enshared, toil but in vain.
  • Meaning
    Those discharge their duty who perform austerities; all others accomplish their own destruction, through the entanglement of the desire (of riches and sensual pleasure).


Post a Comment