Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0255. உண்ணாமை உள்ளது உயிர்நிலை

0255. Unnaamai Ullathu Uyirnilai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    புலால் மறுத்தல்(Pulaal Maruththal)
    The Renunciation of Flesh
  • குறள்
    உண்ணாமை உள்ளது உயிர்நிலை ஊனுண்ண
    அண்ணாத்தல் செய்யாது அளறு.
  • விளக்கம்
    ஊன் உண்ணாமையால் உயிர் அழிந்து போகாமல் நிலைபெறும்; ஊன் உண்ட ஒருவனை நரகம் வெளியே விடாது.
  • Translation
    in English
    If flesh you eat not, life's abodes unharmed remain;
    Who eats, hell swallows him, and renders not again.
  • Meaning
    Not to eat flesh contributes to the continuance of life; therefore if a man eat flesh, hell will not open its mouth (to let him escape out, after he has once fallen in).


Post a Comment