Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0245. அல்லல் அருளாள்வார்க்கு இல்லை

0245. Allal Arulaalvaarkku Illai

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    துறவறவியல் (Thuravaraviyal) - Ascetic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    The Possession of Benevolence
  • குறள்
    அல்லல் அருளாள்வார்க்கு இல்லை வளிவழங்கும்
    மல்லன்மா ஞாலங் கரி.
  • விளக்கம்
    அருள் உடையவர்களுக்குத் துன்பம் இல்லை; காற்று இயங்குகின்ற வளமான பேருலகில் வாழ்பவரே இதற்குச் சாட்சியாவார்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The teeming earth's vast realm, round which the wild winds blow,
    Is witness, men of 'grace' no woeful want shall know.
  • Meaning
    This great rich earth over which the wind blows, is a witness that sorrow never comes upon the kindhearted.


Post a Comment