Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0239. வசையிலா வண்பயன் குன்றும்

0239. Vasaiyilaa Vanpayan Kundrum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    புகழ் (Pugazh)
  • குறள்
    வசையிலா வண்பயன் குன்றும் இசையிலா
    யாக்கை பொறுத்த நிலம்.
  • விளக்கம்
    புகழ் இல்லாதவனின் உடம்பைச் சுமந்த நிலம், குற்றமற்ற பயனான விளைச்சல் இல்லாமல் குறைந்து விடும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    The blameless fruits of fields' increase will dwindle down,
    If earth the burthen bear of men without renown.
  • Meaning
    The ground which supports a body without fame will diminish in its rich produce.


Post a Comment