Thirukural written by Thiruvalluvar consists of three books, the first book on Aram (the Way or Dharma), the second on Porul (Material or Artha) and the third on Inbam (Joy or Kama).

There are 37 chapters in the first book, the first four called Payiram or Prefactory Matter, the next twenty about Ill-Aram (the householder’s Dharma) and the next thirteen about Turavaram (the path of Renunciation). The second book on Porul contains seventy chapters, the first twenty dealing with Kings and their Duties, the succeeding thirty two chapters with the other matters concerning the State, and next thirteen, with Sundry Concerns. The third book on Inbam contains twenty five chapters, the first seven being on Pre Marital Love (Kalavu) and the next eighteen on Marital Love.

There are 133 chapters in all, each chapter contains ten distichs in the metre known as Kural and the work itself is now called by that name.

0235. நத்தம்போல் கேடும் உளதாகும்

0235. Natthampol Kedum Ulathaagum

  • குறள் #
  • பால்
    அறத்துப்பால் (Arathuppal) - Virtue
  • இயல்
    இல்லறவியல் (Illaraviyal) - Domestic Virtue
  • அதிகாரம்
    புகழ் (Pugazh)
  • குறள்
    நத்தம்போல் கேடும் உளதாகும் சாக்காடும்
    வித்தகர்க் கல்லால் அரிது.
  • விளக்கம்
    பொருளைக் கொடுத்துப் புகழைச் சம்பாதித்தாலும், புகழ் உடம்பை நிறுத்திப் பூத உடம்பை விடுதலும் அறிவாற்றலுள்ளவர்க்கே முடியும்.
  • Translation
    in English
    Loss that is gain, and death of life's true bliss fulfilled,
    Are fruits which only wisdom rare can yield.
  • Meaning
    Prosperity to the body of fame, resulting in poverty to the body of flesh and the stability to the former arising from the death of the latter, are achievable only by the wise.


Post a Comment